Adarsh Sein Anand (born 1 November 1936) was the 29th Chief Justice of India, serving from 10 October 1998 to 31 October 2001.Anand completed his studies in Jammu, Lucknow University, and University College London, and enrolled as an Advocate at the Bar Council on 9 November 1964. Having practised in Criminal Law, Constitutional Law, Election Law at the Punjab and Haryana High Court, he was appointed as Additional Judge, Jammu and Kashmir High Court from 26 May 1975. He became the Chief Justice, Jammu and Kashmir High Court on 11 May 1985 and transferred to the Madras High Court on 1 November 1989. He was appointed a Judge of the Supreme Court of India, on 18 November 1991. He enjoyed one of the longest tenures as Chief Justice, since Justice Y. V. Chandrachud.

On 17 February 2003, he took over as the Chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission and was succeeded by Justice Rajendra Babu on 2 April 2007.On February, 2010, he was appointed as chairman of a five-member committee set up to examine the safety aspects of the Mullaperiyar Dam in Kerala. The panel submitted the report on 25 April 2012.

Anand was unanimously elected President of the International Institute of Human Rights Society in 1996. In 1997, he became the first Indian to be awarded the Fellowship of University College London, his alma mater. Anand was nominated as the Executive Chairman of the National Legal Services Authority (India), a statutory body, with effect from July 1997 in recognition of his contribution to legal aid for the poor. He was also unanimously elected Honorary Bencher of the Inner Temple this year. He is the author of the book, The Constitution of Jammu and Kashmir – Its Development and Comments.On 26 January 2008, Anand was honoured with the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award in India.