Agra District is one of the 75 districts of Uttar Pradesh state of India, and the historical city of Agra is the district headquarters. Agra district is a part of Agra division.

Agra district is bounded by Mathura District on the north, Dholpur District of Rajasthan state on the south, Firozabad District on the east and Bharatpur District of Rajasthan State on the west. Area of the district is 4027 km².

According to the 2011 census Agra district has a population of 4,380,793, roughly equal to the nation of Moldova or the US state of Kentucky.This gives it a ranking of 41st in India (out of a total of 640).The district has a population density of 1,084 inhabitants per square kilometre (2,810/sq mi).Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 21%.Agra has a sex ratio of 859 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 69.44%.

Languages spoken include Braj Bhasha, Braj Bhasha is mainly a rural tongue currently, predominant in the nebulous Braj region centred on Mathura and Agra in Uttar Pradesh and Dholpur & Bharatpur in Rajasthan . It is the predominant language in the central stretch of the Ganges-Yamuna Doab.