barsi-gate

Built by Alauddin Khilji in Hansi is an important defensive structure just outside the fort and is an outstanding example of how defences were built with architectural finesse. Today it stands in the centre of the bazaar, forming an imposing gate and a part of the imposing wall which forms the outer defence for Hansi. An inscription in Persian on the gate dates it back to AD 1304-5.

Later on, it was repaired during Ibrahim Lodhi’s reign in 1522 AD. The gateway forming the main entrance to Hansi town stands at a height of over 30 metres.

The city of Hansi has five gates of entry – Delhi Gate (East), Hisar Gate (West), Gosain Gate (North-west), Barsi Gate(South) and Umra Gate (South west). The peculiarity of this town is that its altitude increases after entry from any of the gates. Deserts guard this city towards its west (cities like Tosham, Devsar, Khanak).

Another prominent feature of this ancient city is its fort. Extended in an area of 30 acres (120,000 m2), it is square in shape and has security posts in all the four corners. The fort is said to be that of Great King Prithvi Raj Chauhan.

Later, the son of King Anangpal, Drupad established a sword manufacturing factory in this fort, hence it is also called “Asigarh”. Swords from this fort were exported as far away as to Arab countries. As per Talif-e-Tajkara-e-Hansi by Qazi Sharif Husain in 1915, around 80 forts across the area were controlled from this centre “Asigarh”.

During the period of Firoz Shan Tuglaq, an underground tunnel was constructed connecting the present Hansi to Hisar. The gate of fort has figures of gods, and pictures of gods, goddesses, birds can also be seen on the walls of the fort. The entry gate of the fort was built by George Thomas. This fort was declared a Protected Monument of National Importance in 1937 by the Archeological Survey, the present ASI, and is still in good condition, a must visit site for all archeologists.