Burhanpur District is a district of Madhya Pradesh state in central India. The town of Burhanpur is the district headquarters.

Burhanpur District was created on 15 August 2003, from the southern portion of Khandwa District. The Tapti River flows through the district from east to west. The district is divided from Khandwa District on the north by the Satpura Range, which is also the divide between the Narmada River valley and the valley of the Tapti. The pass through the Satpuras that connects Burhanpur and Khandwa is one of the main routes connecting northern and southern India, and the Asirgarh fortress, which commands the pass, is known as the “Key to the Deccan”.

The district is divided into two development blocks, Burhanpur and Khaknar, and three tehsils, Nepanagar, Burhanpur, and Khaknar. Burhanpur District is part of Indore Division. one more major town near Burhanpur is Shahpur. Shahpur is just 10 km away from Burhanpur and the most developed town in Burhanpur district.

Burhanpur is one of the most prominent places for the people of Dawoodi Bohra Community as Burhanpur houses one of the holiest and largest dargah (Dargh-E-Hakimi) of the community.
The old Burhanpur city is surrounded by gates giving it the appearance of a fort.

According to the 2011 census Burhanpur District has a population of 756,993, roughly equal to the nation of Djibouti or the US state of Alaska.This gives it a ranking of 490th in India (out of a total of 640).The district has a population density of 221 inhabitants per square kilometre (570/sq mi).Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 19.23%.Burhanpur has a sex ratio of 900 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 65.28%.