chor-gumbad

The Chor Gumbad majestically stands upon a rock on the north of the town. At present, this complete hilly area has been developed in a park by the district administration. On account of prominent location of the Chor Gumbad, it is known as the landmark of Narnaul. It is a well-planned big size monument in square shape having single chamber with four minarets at each corner. It gives an appearance of a double-storied structure from the outside due to an open veranda running around it. This structure possibly came to be used as hideouts by thieves and highwaymen, subsequently leading probably to the popular present day name : Chor Gumbad. It was constructed by an Afghan Jamal Khan as his tomb. A low dome and arches show that it must have been constructed during the reign of Firoz Shah Tughlaq (1351-88 AD). At present, there is no grave inside the tomb.

The Chor gumbad is affectionately called the `signboard’ of the town. Standing majestically and isolated upon a rock in the north of the town, this gumbad is a well pplaned square building with a large chamber within and four minarets outside at each corner. Constructed by the Afghan Jamal Khan (as his tomb) during the reign of Feroze Shah Tughlaq, it became a hideout for robber and thieves, thus earning its name (chor means thief).

Giving a double-storeyed appearance from outside, the tomb actually has single storey with the second level obtained by providing an open verandah running around. Though the time of its construction is not known, the wide low dome and arches and some other features of architecture, place it in point of time with the tomb of Shah Nizam and old parts of the adjoining Madarsa built in 1357 AD in the Tughluq style.

The complex is also known as ‘Bhul-Bhuhaiyan’, (a maze) as the passage running in the thickness of the walls is likely to baffle the visitor, with its twists and turns.