Dhamtari is a district in the Indian state of Chhattisgarh. It was officially formed on July 6, 1998, from an amalgamation of Dhamma and Tarai. The district headquarters is Dhamtari. It is situated between 20o42′ N Latitude and 81o33′ Longtitude. The total area of the district is 2029 km² and it is 305 meters above the sea level. In the east, Satpura range is located. It is popularly known as Sihawa pahad.

Mahanadi River is the principal river of this district and till this area it is named as Kankannadi, Chitrotpala, Neelotpala, Mandvahini, Jairath etc. Its tributaries are Sendur, Pairy, Sondur, Joan, Kharun and Shivnath. The fertility of lands of Dhamtari district can be attributed to the presence of these rivers. The chief crop of this region is paddy. Mahanadi one of the major river in central India originates in the hills of Sihawa flows in an easterly direction into the Bay of Bengal.

The national highway No. 30 Raipur – Vijaynagaram (Andhra Pradesh) passes through Dhamtari. Raipur is 78 km from Dhamtari.

Dhamtari has over 136 rice mills.

Ravishankar Sagar dam (Gangrel Dam) that irrigates almost 570 square kilometres of land and also acts as a main supply unit of safe drinking water resource for state capital Raipur as well as supply to Bhilai Steel Plant lies almost 11 km from the district capital. Two hydro-power plants of 10 MW and 1.2 MW are installed there.

Asia’s first ever Syphen dam was built in 1914 at Madamsilli. Besides Madamsilli, Sondhur dam, Dudhawa dam are the major projects.

Approximately 52 percent of the geographic area is covered by forests. The district has a tropical climate.

According to the 2011 census Dhamtari district has a population of 799,199, roughly equal to the nation of Comoros or the US state of South Dakota. This gives it a ranking of 485th in India (out of a total of 640). The district has a population density of 236 inhabitants per square kilometre (610/sq mi). Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 13.11%. Dhamtari has a sex ratio of 1012 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 78.95%.

This district is situated between 20°42′ N latitude and 81°33′ longitude. Dhamtari district was officially formed on 6 July 1998 dividing the Raipur district currently the capital of Chhattisgarh along with Mahasamund. Raipur district was broken up into the districts of Raipur, Mahasamund and Dhamtari. Dhamtari, Kurud and Nagari are included in Dhamtari district as tehsils, and blocks.

The total area of the district is 2029 km², and its altitude is 305 m above sea level. The district is surrounded by Raipur District to the north and south, and part of Orissa state to the east and west.

Dhamtari district falls between two Lok Sabha constituencies (Kanker and Mahasamund) and three assembly constituencies: Dhamtari, Kurud, and Sihawa.