Dumka is one of the twenty-four districts of Jharkhand state in eastern India, and Dumka is the administrative headquarters of this district. This district covers an area of 3716.02 km². This district has a population of 1,321,096 (2011 Census).

In 2006, the Indian government named Dumka one of the country’s 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640). It is one of the 21 districts in Jharkhand currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF)

There are four Vidhan Sabha constituencies in this district: Sikaripara, Dumka, Jama and Jarmundi. All of these are part of Dumka Lok Sabha constituency

According to the 2011 census Dumka district has a population of 1,321,096, roughly equal to the nation of Mauritius or the US state of New Hampshire. This gives it a ranking of 370th in India (out of a total of 640). The district has a population density of 300 inhabitants per square kilometre (780/sq mi) . Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 19.39%. Dumka has a sex ratio of 974 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 62.54%

On 10 January 1992 Siddhu Kanhu University was founded in Dumka, which, later, on 6 May 2003 renamed as Sido Kanhu Murmu University. This university has 13 constituent colleges, which include Santal Pargana College (founded in 1955) and S.P. Mahila College (founded in 1974).

Dumka is a small town, it is connected with road to the neighboring city. However, in July 2011 Dumka is connected with newly built Jasidih – Dumka railway line. Since then city has seen a growing number of three Wheeler on road. Although there is an ongoing work on new railway line, which is connect Dumka to Bhagalpur (Bihar) and Rampurhat (west Bangal) in coming years.

But Buses are the preferred mode of transport and are run by both government agencies and private operators.Dumka has good connectivity to it neighboring district with buses.There is luxury night bus service between Dumka – Ranchi and Kolkata.

In a land area of 14,356 square kilometers, the diocesan territory covers Sahibganj, Pakur, Jamtara and Deoghar (excluding Deoghar, Mohanpur and Sarawan blocks) and Rampurhat sub-divion in Birbhum District in West Bengal.

Presently headed by Bishop Julius Marandi