Durgapur is a city in the Burdwan District, in the state of West Bengal, India. Durgapur is the third largest city in West Bengal in terms of both area (154.20 km2 / 59.54 sq. miles) and population (5,66,937) (2011 census & excluding the urban agglomeration). Durgapur is the second planned city of India after Chandigarh and has the only operational dry (inland) port in Eastern India. It is one of the six Municipal Corporations in West Bengal.

Durgapur is located at 23.48°N 87.32°E. It has an average elevation of 65 metres (213 ft).Durgapur is in the Burdwan District of West Bengal, on the bank of the Damodar River, just before it enters the alluvial plains of Bengal. The topography is undulating. The coal-bearing area of the Raniganj coalfields lies just beyond Durgapur; some parts intrude into the area. The area was deeply forested till recent times, and some streaks of the original forests are still there.Durgapur subdivision is surrounded by Asansol subdivision on the west, Bardhaman Sadar North subdivision on the east, Bankura district across the Damodar in the south, and Birbhum district across the Ajay River to the north.

Durgapur experiences a somewhat transitional climate between the tropical wet and dry climate of Kolkata and the more humid subtropical climate further north. Summers are extremely hot, lasting from March to the middle of June, with average daily temperatures near 32 °C. They are followed by the monsoon season with heavy precipitation and somewhat lower temperatures. Durgapur receives most of its annual rainfall of around 52 inches during this season. The monsoon is followed by a mild, dry winter from November to January. Temperatures are quite moderate, with average daily temperatures near 20 °C. There is a short autumn at the end of October and a short spring in February, both of which have relatively moderate temperatures of around 25 °C.

Durgapur houses a large number of government aided and public schools in addition to two Kendriya Vidyalayas and a Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya (under the Government of India). The most renowned private schools are St. Xavier’s School; St. Peter’s School; Delhi Public School; Carmel Convent High School, Fuljhore; Carmel School, Durgapur Steel Township; St. Michael’s School; Amrita Vidyalayam; D.A.V Model School; Pranavananda Vidya Mandir; Hem Sheela Model School; Bidhan School; Bidhan Chandra Institution for Boys and Bidhan Chandra Institution for Girls (both imparting Higher Secondary education only); Narayana School; Techno India Group Public School, Durgapur Public School; Guru Teg Bahadur Public School; MAMC Modern High School and Assembly of God Church School. Besides, there are several other private schools which have achieved many laurels over the years. There are schools run by the West Bengal Government and the Durgapur Steel Plant (DSP) as well, across the city.