Gajapati is a district of Odisha, India. It was created from Ganjam District in October, 1992. Gajapati district was named after Maharaja Sri Krushna Chandra Gajapati Narayan Dev, the Raja Sahib of the Paralakhemundi estate (the first Chief Minister of the state), who is remembered for his contribution in the formation of a separate state, and inclusion of the Paralakhemundi estate in Odisha. The district headquarters at Paralakhemundi, formerly a princely estate, has been clustered within a radius of approximately 5 kilometers around the geometric centre of Paralakhemundi. The District is a part of the Red Corridor.

Paralakhemundi is the District Headquarters and also the largest town of the Gajapati district. Kashinagara is the second largest town of Gajapati district.

In 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj named Gajapati one of the country’s 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640).It is one of the 19 districts in odisha currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF).

According to the 2011 census Gajapati district has a population of 575,880, roughly equal to the nation of Solomon Islands or the US state of Wyoming.This gives it a ranking of 533rd in India (out of a total of 640).The district has a population density of 133 inhabitants per square kilometre (340/sq mi).Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 10.99%.Gajapati has a sex ratio of 1042 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 54.29%.