Ganjam district is a district in the Indian state of Odisha located on the border of Andhra Pradesh. Ganjam’s total area is 8,070 km² (3,116 mi²).

New Jagannath Sadak connects Ganjam district with Puri.The district headquarters is Chhatrapur. Ganjam is divided into three sub-divisions Chhatrapur, Berhampur, and Bhanjanagar. The The Imperial Gazetteer of India 1908 lists Ganjam, along with the Thanjavur and South Canara districts, as the three districts of the Madras Presidency where Brahmins were most numerous. As of 2011 it is the most populous district of Odisha (out of 30).

Undivided historical Ganjam district included present Gajapati district and also parts of Srikakulam district of Andhra Pradesh before 1950. In 1950, Srikakulam district was organised by separating Srikakulam and Tekkali areas from Ganjam district and Palakonda area from Visakhapatnam district. In 1992, Paralakhemundi, Kasinagar and Ramagiri Udayagiri areas were separated from Ganjam district and organised as Gajapati district. At first, Ganjam has been headquarters of Ganjam district and later Chhatrapur was made as headquarters.The district is currently a part of the Red Corridor.

In 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj named Ganjam one of the country’s 250 most impoverished districts (out of 640 districts in total).It is one of the 19 districts in Odisha currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF).

According to the 2011 census Ganjam district has a population of 3,520,151, roughly equal to the nation of Lithuania or the US state of Connecticut.This gives it a ranking of 83rd in India (out of a total of 640).The district has a population density of 429 inhabitants per square kilometre (1,110/sq mi).Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 11.37%.Ganjam has a sex ratio of 983 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 71.88%.