Guna is a city and a municipality in Guna district in the Indian state of Madhya Pradesh. It is the administrative headquarters of Guna District and is located on the banks of Parbati river.

Guna is one of the 51 districts of Madhya Pradesh in central India. Its administrative headquarters is Guna. The district has a population of 1,240,938 (2011 census). It has an area of 6390 km², and is bounded on the northeast by Shivpuri District, on the east by Ashoknagar District, on the southeast by Vidisha District, on the southwest by Rajgarh District, on the west and northwest by Jhalawar and Baran districts of Rajasthan state. The Sindh River flows northward along the eastern edge of the district, forming part of the boundary with Ashoknagar District, and the Parbati River flows northwestward through the southern portion of the district, forming part of the boundary with Baran District before flowing into Rajasthan.

There are 4 Madhya Pradesh Vidhan Sabha constituencies located in this district. Two of them, Bamori and Guna are part of Guna Lok Sabha constituency and the other two, Chachoura and Raghogarh are part of Rajgarh Lok Sabha constituency

According to the 2011 census Guna District has a population of 1,240,938, roughly equal to the nation of Trinidad and Tobago or the US state of New Hampshire. This gives it a ranking of 388th in India (out of a total of 640). The district has a population density of 194 inhabitants per square kilometre (500/sq mi) .Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 26.91%. Guna has a sex ratio of 910 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 65.1%.

Bajrangarh Fort, a 16–17th century fort in the Guna District, local outing place.