Kaithal district is one of the 21 districts of Haryana, state in northern India. Kaithal town is the district headquarters. The district occupies an area of 2317 km². It has a population of 10,72,861 (2011 census). This district is part of Ambala Division.

Kaithal district comprises four tehsils: Kaithal, Guhla, Pundri and Kalayat; and the three sub-tehsils of Rajaund, Dhand and Siwan.The four Haryana Vidhan Sabha constituencies located in this district are Guhla, Kalayat, Kaithal and Pundri.All of these are part of Kurukshetra Lok Sabha constituency.

According to the 2011 census Kaithal district has a population of 1,072,861, roughly equal to the nation of Cyprus or the US state of Rhode Island.This gives it a ranking of 423rd in India (out of a total of 640).The district has a population density of 463 inhabitants per square kilometre (1,200/sq mi).Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 13.39%.Kaithal has a sex ratio of 880 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 70.6%.