Punjab is a state of India which is located in the North-West part and known as the terrain of five rivers. The name of the state Punjab is made up of two words namely ‘Punj’ means five and ‘aab’ means water thus denoting five waters. This fertile land of five rivers is irrigated by these rivers which have their source from different lakes in the great Himalayas. These rivers have nonstop supply of water throughout the year due to the ice melted water of Himalayan glaciers.

The rivers are Sutlej, Beas, Ravi, Chenab and Jhelum accordingly to their respective situations from the Indian capital. Sutlej and Beas merge with each other and then called Sutlej in Indian Punjab at Harike before entering in Pakistan’s territory to merge finally into the River Indus. These rivers in fact are the backbone of the Punjab’s economy particularly for the bread bowl of Punjab region.

The Punjab area in between the rivers of Sutlej and Beas is widely famous as Doaba. Hoshiarpur, Nawan Shahr and Jalandhar are the chief cities of Doaba region. The region on either side of Ravi River and between Chenab and Beas rivers is generally known as Majha area. One of the key cities of this area is the holy Amritsar city and Majha region is the heart of Punjab. This area of Punjab is fertile enough which was developed by changing the forests into agricultural land and named as Bari doab. The region between north of Chenab river and Jhelum is commonly recognized as Pothohar. Rachana doab is the familiar name of the region between Chenab and Ravi rivers. The region located on the eastern side of Beas River is termed as Malwa area which includes the cities such as Ambala, Patiala, Sangrur, Karnal, Abohar, Shahabad, Malerkotla and Ludhiana.