Mandya District is an administrative district of Karnataka, India. Mandya District borders on the south by Mysore District, on the west by Hassan District, on the north by Tumkur District and on the east by Ramanagar district. The district was formed in the year 1939.

The main town is in Mandya District is Mandya. As of 2011, the district population was 1,808,680 of which 16.03% was urban

Mandya district gets its name from the city of Mandya which is also the headquarters of the district. Although the widely purported mythical story about the name is that the region is named after a sage called Maandavya, but scholars and academicians have stated based on ancient inscription that this region was referred as ‘Man-ta-ya’ meaning a habitat preceding a civilization or roughly an ancient abode And gradually it became Mandya.

Being located between Bangalore and Mysore, Mandya District enjoys a good communication network. Existence of a Broadguage railway line connecting Bangalore and Mysore ensures easy transportation of raw materials and finished goods. Having one engineering college and three Polytechnics with different disciplines provides a good backbone of technical manpower for industrialization.

Mandya is located within 50 km. radius from various research organisations like CFTRI, DFRL, CIPET, STEP-SJCE which helps in better industrialisation of the district.

The District has 2 KIADB industrial areas one at Tubinakere, near Mandya and another at Somanahali, near Maddur, there are 6 KSSIDC industrial estates at Mandya Ganjam (Srirangapatna), Somanahalli(Maddur), Harohalli(Pandavapura), Nagamangala. Recently a substation of 220 KVA was operationalised at Tubinakere estate

Mandya district is located between north latitude 12°13′ to 13°04′ N and east longitude 76°19′ to 77°20′ E. It is bounded by Tumkur district to the northeast, Ramanagar district to the east, Chamrajnagar district to the south, Mysore district to the west and southwest, and Hassan district to the northwest. It has an area of 4,961 square kilometres (1,915 sq mi). The administrative center of Mandya District is Mandya City.

Mandya District has five important rivers: Kaveri River and four tributaries main Hemavathi, Shimsha, Lokapavani, Veeravaishnavi

Mandya district consists of 7 taluks grouped under 2 subdivisions. The Mandya subdivision comprises Mandya, Maddur and Malavalli taluks and the Pandavapura subdivision comprises Pandavapura, Srirangapatna, Nagamangala and Krishnarajpet Taluks.

According to the 2011 census Mandya district has a population of 1,808,680, roughly equal to the nation of The Gambia or the US state of Nebraska. This gives it a ranking of 263rd in India (out of a total of 640). The district has a population density of 365 inhabitants per square kilometre (950/sq mi) .Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 2.55%.[ Mandya has a sex ratio of 989 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 70.14%.

Mandya district has an extenstive road network. NH 48 and NH 209 passes through the district. The road network in the district includes 73 kilometres (45 mi) of National Highways, 467 kilometres (290 mi) of State Highways and 2,968 kilometres (1,844 mi) of Major district roads

Mandya belongs to “South Western Railways” of “Indian Railways”. Mandya has many railway stations which are listed below