Meerut district is one of the districts of Uttar Pradesh state of India, and Meerut is the district headquarters. Meerut district is a part of Meerut division.

The district was established under British rule in 1818 and, on establishment, constituted the then tehsils of Meerut, Ghaziabad, Mawana, Baghpat, Sardhana and Hapur.These now constitute the districts of Meerut, Ghaziabad, Hapur, Bagpat, Muzaffarnagar, Bulandshahr and a part of Gautam Buddh Nagar district.

Meerut district lies between 28°57’ to 29°02’ North latitude and 77°40’ to 77°45’ East longitude in the Indo-Gangetic plains of India.It is bound on the north by Muzaffarnagar district, in the south by Bulandshahar district while Ghaziabad and Baghpat districts form the southern and western limits.The river Ganges forms the eastern boundary and separates the district from Moradabad district and Bijnor district.The Hindon forms the western boundary and separates the district from Baghpat.The ground is not rocky and there are no mountains. The soil is composed of pleistocene and sub-recent alluvial sediments transported and deposited by river action from the Himalayan region.These alluvial deposits are unconsolidated.Lithologically, sediments consist of clay, silt and fine to coarse sand.Land is very fertile for growing crops, especially wheat, sugarcane and vegetables.

According to the 2011 census Meerut district has a population of 3,447,405, roughly equal to the nation of Panama or the US state of Connecticut.This gives it a ranking of 94th in India (out of a total of 640).The district has a population density of 1,347 inhabitants per square kilometre (3,490/sq mi).Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 15.92%.Meerut has a sex ratio of 885 females for every 1000 males, lower than the state average of 908; while the child sex ratio is 850, lower than the state average of 899.The district has a literacy rate of 74.80%, higher than the state average of 69.72%.

Meerut is well connected city to national capital Delhi and from meerut can catch weekly train to kochuvelly, by weekly to Madurai, daily to bilaspur, jammu, amritsar Bombay Lucknow, Allahabad Hardwar, Dehradoon this is the main way to reach Mussori by train to Dehradoon then by road to Mussoorie and Meerut has seven railway stations: Meerut City, Meerut Cantt, Partapur, Sakoti Tanda, Daurala, Mohiuddinpur and Pabli Khas.