Osmania University is a public state university located in Hyderabad, India, and founded in 1918 with the help of chief Architect of Mahbub Ali Khan – Nawab Sarwar Jung. It was established and named after the seventh and last Nizam of Hyderabad, Nawab Mir Osman Ali Khan. It is the third oldest university in southern India, and the first to be established in the erstwhile princely State of Hyderabad. It is the first Indian university to have Urduas a medium of instruction. In 2012, the university was placed sixth among the Nation’s Premier Universities in Humanities, Sciences and Commerce stream, which secured the University with Potential for Excellence status.

A plan to establish a university in Hyderabad state was initiated in 1884 AD. Wilfred Sewen Blunt, a British educationist, prepared a proposal and presented it to theNizam of Hyderabad on 24 January 1884. The official decree was issued on 17 August 1917 for the establishment of Osmania University. Inaugurated in 1918, the university start functioning since 28th August 1919, with the initial enrollment of 225 students,with in the first decade of its establishment Medicine and Engineering faculties were started subsequently in 1927 and 1929, that were accredited throughout Indian subcontinent. The university college for women was initiated in 1926 and in 1936 Arts college was started.

The University Colleges are located within the main campus of the university. There are eight such colleges: the University College of Arts and Social Sciences, University College of Commerce & Business Management, University College of Technology, University College of Engineering, University College of Law, University College of Science, Institute of Advance Study in Education, and PG College of Physical Education. The university offers courses in Humanities, Arts, Sciences, Social Sciences, Law, Engineering, Medicine, Technology, Commerce and Business Management, Information Technology and Oriental Languages. In 2001, Osmania was awarded five-star status by the National Accreditation and Assessment Council (NAAC) of the University Grants Commission, part of the Government of India.

The University Library is the main library of the university and it was founded in 1918 along with the university. It has close to 500,000 books and more than 6000 manuscripts, which includes rare palm leaf manuscripts. It also has various journals, government documents, etc. The main library coordinates a library system, which connects the libraries in the entire campus and other constituent college libraries.