Raisen District is a district of Madhya Pradesh state of India. The town of Raisen is the district headquarters. The district is part of Bhopal Division.

Raisen District takes its name from Raisen town, which is named after a fort. This fort is built on a sandstone hill, at the foot of which settles the town. The name is probably a corruption of Rajavasini or Rajasayan, the royal residence.

Raisen district is situated between the latitude 22 47′ and 23 33′ north and the longitude 7721′ and 78 49′ east. Sehore district lies in west, Vidisha district in the north, Sagar district in the east and south-east, Narsimhapur district in the south-east, Hoshangabad and Sehore districts in the south. It covers an area of 8,395 square kilometres (3,241 sq mi).

Raisen district has eight tehsils – Raisen, Goharganj, Begamganj, Gairatganj, Silwani, Bareli, Udaipura and Badi

The territory of the present-day Raisen district was once part of the Nizamat-A-Mashrif district of the Bhopal princely state. After the Bhopal State of independent India came into being, Raisen was declared a separate district on 5 May 1950.

The Buddhist monuments at Sanchi, a UNESCO world heritage site, are located in Raisen district.Bhimbetka rock shelters, another UNESCO world heritage site, are also located in Raisen district.

Raisen District has many tourism places like Sanchi:- World heritage, 46 km from Bhopal and 8 km from Vidisha, Bhojpur:- The Bjojpur temple houses the largest Shiva lingam in India, which is 5.5 m (18 ft) tall and 2.3 m (7.5 ft) in circumference and is crafted out a single rock.

Raisen is 45 km from Bhopal, Its connected to Bhopal via NH-86. NH-12 also passes thru the District.