Ratnagiri district is one of the 36 districts of Maharashtra state in Western India. Ratnagiri (city) is the district headquarters of the district. The district is 11.33% urban.The district is bounded by the Arabian Sea to the west, Sindhudurg district to the south, Raigad district to the north and Satara, Sangli and Kolhapur districts to the east. This district is part of Konkan division.

According to the 2011 census Ratnagiri district has a population of 1,612,672,roughly equal to the nation of Guinea-Bissau or the US state of Idaho.This gives it a ranking of 311th in India (out of a total of 640).The district has a population density of 196 inhabitants per square kilometre (510/sq mi).Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was -4.96%.Ratnagiri has a sex ratio of 1123 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 82.43%.

There are many Forts along the sea cost as well as along the Hilly areas near western Ghats. They are Hill Forts-Mahipatgad,Sumargad, Rasalgad,Prachitgad,Palgad, Mandangad fort, Govalkot,Bhavangad, Maimatgad Sea Forts-Bankot,Suvarnadurg,Fattegad,Gova Fort, Gopalgad, Jaigad, Vijaygad, Ratnagiri fort, Purnagad, Ambolgad, Yeshwantgad

Ratnagiri has the distinction of being the native place of three Bharat Ratna awardees, namely Maharishi Karve, Lokmanya Tilak, Dr. Pandurang Vaman Kane and Dr. B. R. Ambedkar