Samba District is a newly formed district in the Indian administered state of Jammu and Kashmir. Before the formation of this district, the area now under the district was part of Jammu district. Now the district itself covers Samba town and adjoining tehsils namely, Vijaypur and village Supwal, Gahwal. Historically Samba consist of 22 native towns (also known as Mandi), each consist of a separate family. The district is separated from the Jammu district by “Purmandal Bridge”. Muslims make up just under 6% of total population according to 2001 India census.Samba town is situated on the stream Basantar.

Samba district consists of four blocks: Samba, Vijaypur, Purmandal, and Ghagwal. Each block consists of a number of GREF panchayats. The biggest village is Rajpura.

Samba District has two assembly constituencies: Samba (reserved for scheduled castes (SC)) and Vijaypur. Both the assembly constituencies are part of Jammu (Lok Sabha constituency)

According to the 2011 census Samba District has a population of 318,611, roughly equal to the nation of The Bahamas. This gives it a ranking of 568th in India (out of a total of 640). The district has a population density of 318 inhabitants per square kilometre (820/sq mi) .Its population growth rate over the decade of 2001 to 2011 was 16.9%. Samba has a sex ratio of 886 females for every 1,000 males, and a literacy rate of 82.48%.

The climate of the district being sub tropical zone is hot and dry in summer and cold in winter. Being in the foot hills of the mountains nights are bit cooler than that of neighbouring areas of Punjab. The temperature ranges between -2 degree Celsius and 42 degree Celsius.

It is said that Samba was principality established somewhere in 1400 A.D. As per folklore Malh Dev, the younger son of Rai Saidu of Lakhanpur was the founder of Samba principality, who married into the family of Ghotar a local tribesman. After his marriage he stayed at Samba and made himself the master of the tract with Samba as its capital. Samba ultimately came under the supremacy of Jammu, during the period of Hari Dev, in 1816 A.D. and in 1846 A.D. it became an integral part of the J&K State.

Mansar Lake is situated on the Samba – Udhampur Road at a distance of twenty two km from Samba. The Mansar Lake is surrounded by small hills with different Hindu Gods and Goddesses Temples and also attracts a large number of tourists as well as religious pilgrims in the area. A tourist complex comprising five tourist huts and rooms situated on the bank of the Lake provides accommodation to the tourists /visitors. The State Government has also established development authority known as Surinsar-Mansar Development Authority which is responsible for implementation of tourism developmental projects in all the four tourist places.

Purmandal is a religious place situated at a distance of thirty nine km from Jammu and also connected with Samba via Purmandal-Utterbani –Vijaypur road. Purmandal is known as “Chotta Kashi”, having old Shiva temples which has significant religious importance and surrounded by the Shivalik Hills that possess a natural beauty.