Sirsa district is one of the districts of Haryana state, India. Sirsa is the district headquarters, and is located on National Highway 10 and 250 kilometres (160 mi) from the capital, Delhi.

In 1819, the territory occupied by the present district was taken over by the British and it became part of the North Western district of the Delhi territory. In 1820, the North Western district was bifurcated into Northern and Western districts and this territory became part of Western district, which was later renamed Haryana district. In 1837, it was separated from Haryana district and merged with newly formed Bhattiana district. In 1858, Bhattiana district was transferred to Punjab Province and renamed Sirsa district. In 1884, Sirsa district was abolished, its two tehsils, Sirsa and Dabwali were merged to form Sirsa tehsil, which became part of Hissar district of Punjab Province. On 1 November 1966, it became part of newly formed state of Haryana. In 1968, Sirsa tehsil was again bifurcated to Sirsa and Dabwali tehsils. The present district was carved out on September 1, 1975 by amalgamating Sirsa and Dabwali tehsils of erstwhile Hissar district.

In 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj named Sirsa one of the country’s 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640).It is one of the two districts in Haryana currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF).

According to the 2011 census Sirsa district has a population of 1,295,189, roughly equal to the nation of Mauritius or the US state of New Hampshire.This gives it a ranking of 378th in India (out of a total of 640).The district has a population density of 303 inhabitants per square kilometre (780/sq mi).As of the 2011 census, its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 15.99%, with a sex ratio of 897 females for every 1000 males and a literacy rate of 68.82%.