Tarn Taran district is one of the districts in the state of Punjab in North-West Republic of India. The main cities are Tarn Taran Sahib and Patti. The City of Taran Taran is a holy place for Sikhs.

Tarn Taran district was formed in 2006 from Amritsar District. The declaration to this effect was made by Captain Amarinder Singh, Ex-Chief Minister of Punjab, during the celebrations marking the martyrdom day of Sri Guru Arjan Dev Ji. With this, it became the 19th district of Punjab. It has three tehsils, which are Patti, Khadur Sahib and Tarn Taran. The District Headquarters is headed by the Deputy Commissioner, along with a Senior Superintendent of Police, the Additional District and Sessions Judge, the Chief Judicial Magistrate, Civil Surgeon, district Education Officer, Improvement Trust and a Municipal Council.

According to the 2011 census Tarn Taran district has a population of 1,120,070 out of which more than 93% people are Sikhs.The population of the district is roughly equal to the nation of Cyprus or the US state of Rhode Island.This gives it a ranking of 413th in India (out of a total of 640).The district has a population density of 464 inhabitants per square kilometre (1,200/sq mi).Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 19.28%.Tarn Taran has a sex ratio of 898 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 69.4%.