- > Ancestral Goa
- > Archaeological Museum & Portrait Gallery
- > Archives Museum
- > Cabo Palace
- > Chapora Fort
- > Marmagao Fort
- > Museum Of Christian Art At Rachol
- > Museum of Goa Daman & Diu
- > Ruins Of St. Augustine’s Tower, Old Goa
- > Terekhol (Terecol) Fort
- > The Bigfoot Art Gallery
- > The Gate Of The College Of St. Paul
- > The Gate Of the Palace Of ‘Adil Shah’
- > The Naval Aviation Museum (Vasco)
- > The Pillory (Old Goa)
- > The Professed House & The Basilica Of Bom Jesus (Old Goa)
- > The Viceroy Arch
- > Aguada Fort
- > The Royal Chapel Of St. Anthony
Often mis-spelt as Tirakol or Tirakhol, situated on the Terekhol River, this fort lies on the northern tip of Goa. Maharaja Khem Sawant Bhonsle, the Raja of Sawantwadi, built this fort in the 17th century. It was then rebuilt in 1764 after the Portuguese Viceroy Dom Pedro Miguel de Almeida captured it. However, Terekhol was legally incorporated into Goa only in 1788.alt.
In 1825, Dr. Bernado Peres da Silva, the first Goan born Viceroy of Goa, used the fort as a base for an armed rebellion against the Portuguese.
The outcome however, was not very fruitful and the Portuguese took over the fort once again. He never returned to Goa.
The remains of the fort have now been converted into a hotel, the Terekhol Fort Heritage. In its courtyard is the century old Church of St. Anthony. But it is not open to the general public except on certain occasions such as the annual feast that is usually held some time in May.
42 kms from Panaji, Terekhol fort stands at the northern most tip of Goa’s shoreline, on a hillock overlooking the Arabian Sea, at the mouth of river Terekhol.
The Terekhol Fort lies on the northern tip of Goa near the Terekhol River. Often wrongly spelt as Tirakol or Tirakhol, the fort was built by Maharaja Khem Sawant Bhonsle of Sawantwadi in the 17th century. The fort was rebuilt in 1764 when the Portuguese Viceroy Dom Pedro Miguel de Almeida captured it. In 1788, the fort got legally incorporated in Goa. The fort was used as a base for armed rebellion against the Portuguese in 1825 by Dr Bernando Peres da Silva, the first Viceroy born in Goan soil. The rebellion failed and Dr Bernando left Goa never to return again. The fort has acted as a sanctuary for those opposing tyranny and oppression. The fort also witnessed resistance against the Portugese colonialists in 1954 when two Goans tried to hoist the Indian flag and were shot fatally.