- > Ancestral Goa
- > Archaeological Museum & Portrait Gallery
- > Archives Museum
- > Cabo Palace
- > Chapora Fort
- > Marmagao Fort
- > Museum Of Christian Art At Rachol
- > Museum of Goa Daman & Diu
- > Ruins Of St. Augustine’s Tower, Old Goa
- > Terekhol (Terecol) Fort
- > The Bigfoot Art Gallery
- > The Gate Of The College Of St. Paul
- > The Gate Of the Palace Of ‘Adil Shah’
- > The Naval Aviation Museum (Vasco)
- > The Pillory (Old Goa)
- > The Professed House & The Basilica Of Bom Jesus (Old Goa)
- > The Viceroy Arch
- > Aguada Fort
- > The Royal Chapel Of St. Anthony
The Palace of Adil Shah at Old Goa was the most prominent building with magnificent lofty staircases. It was the residence of the Portuguese governors till 1695, and was afterwards used by them on festive occasions. It was deserted during the epidemic in the 18th century, was demolished in 1820 and the materials carried to Panjim for construction of houses.
Now only the gate remains which is architecturally purely Brahminical in style. Six steps in front of the gate lead to the raised platform on which the gate stands. It is made of basalt and consists of a horizontal lintel resting on pillars decorated with mouldings and having on the outer side fragmentary perforated screens.
History states that here stood Adil Shah summer palace cum fortress. It was conquered by the Portuguese and used it as rest house by the Portuguese Viceroy’s. As per Portuguese Tradition the new Viceroy who came down from Portugal stayed here. He got the ceremonial keys to the city of Old Goa at Viceroy Arch from the exiting Vicery. The exiting Viceroy too stayed here before he shipped off to Portugal.
This palace was also called as Idalcaon Palace. The Palace was abondaned due to an epidemic in the 18th century. The Palace was demolished somewhere in 1820.