Thiruvananthapuram District is the southernmost district of the coastal state of Kerala . It is the largest city in kerala. It came into existence in the year 1957. The headquarters is the city of Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) which is also the capital city of Kerala.

The district has an area of 2,192 square kilometres (846 sq mi) and a population of 3,307,284 (as per the 2011 census) the second-most populous district in Kerala after Malappuram district. It is the densest district in Kerala with 1,509 inhabitants per square kilometre (3,910/sq mi). It is divided into six taluks: Thiruvananthapuram,Chirayinkeezhu, Neyyattinkara, Nedumangadu, Varkala and Kattakada. The urban bodies in the district are theThiruvananthapuram Corporation, Varkala, Neyyattinkara, Attingal and Nedumangad municipalities.

Thiruvananthapuram district is situated between north latitudes 8°17′ and 8°54′ and east longitudes 76°41′ and 77°17′. The southern-most extremity, Kaliyikkavila, is 56 kilometres (35 mi) away from Kanyakumari, the “Land’s End of mainland India. The district is 33.75% urbanised.

The district has three major rivers, several freshwater lakes and more than 300 ponds. The eastern region is forested, northern regions are mostly under rubber cultivation and the remaining areas have mixed dry land crops of coconut, plantain, tapioca, etc. Built up areas and rice fields complete the land use.